Maitre Carre - Success Story 01

Maître Carré

Eliminating local servers thanks to Cloud solutions Eliminating local servers thanks to Cloud solutions

Maître Carré designs and develops contemporary and intelligent buildings in the greater Montreal region (Canada). Recently, their objective was to no longer have to manage a local server for storage and to increase flexibility in order to make collaborative work between employees, consultants and contractors easier. Read on to discover how Google solutions helped Maître Carré overcome this challenge while maintaining security.


About Maître Carré

Since 2009, Maître Carré has designed and developed contemporary and intelligent buildings in the greater Montreal region (Canada). More than places to live, the company offers truly urban living spaces perfectly integrated into their environment. Their signature look is both innovative and harmonious, with a creative and exacting design. Maître Carré’s interventions fall into the following activity sectors: development and construction of residential, commercial and retail buildings; townhouse development; site location; financing; marketing/construction consultation; and building acquisitions.

Wishing to contribute positively to the City of Montreal, Maître Carré aims to support the local economy, restore and develop its existing heritage, celebrate diverse art forms and culture, and promote good relationships within its neighbourhoods. In addition, the buildings proposed by Maître Carré are designed to minimize their environmental footprint throughout their life cycle.

Doing away with server management and local backups while gaining in mobility and flexibility

Maître Carré’s objective was to no longer need to rely on a server on its premises. The servers were located in a room adjacent to its offices and they were becoming less and less reliable every year. They were looking to find a short-term way to no longer rely on backups made to the local server. Along the same lines, they wanted to reduce the amount of time spent by their employees on managing servers and saving data.

It was also necessary to consider Maître Carré’s work reality in order to better understand their specifications. In effect, its team works with a large number of consultants and contractors. This made the sharing of files a sensitive issue, in addition to complicating security management. The solutions had to meet this need by simplifying operations. In addition, its employees often needed to work on a tablet or laptop, whether at the customer’s site or when working from home. The solutions needed to meet these needs for mobility while maintaining security and simplifying the management of different work documents (specifically to avoid multiplication of copies).

Google Drive: a high performing Cloud storage solution retained by Maître Carré

Considering its context and all of the needs identified, the search for solutions quickly helped identify Google Drive as a logical choice for Maître Carré. The solution perfectly meet their needs in regards to the backup, management and sharing of documents, as well as security, mobility and flexibility.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 02

To take full advantage of the Cloud solutions available to employees through Google solutions, the process was divided into 3 phases. The deployment of Google Drive took place first, then allowing for the integration of Gmail messaging, shared agendas, integrated office automation tools and complementary applications.

1) Creation of the Google account and migration of data onto Google Drive
Creating and setting up the Google for Work account was completed in less than one week, and the initial transfers of files and documents occurred immediately afterwards, problem-free. Then, to preserve a similar work experience, a version of Drive for PC was set up on all of the required workstations. This allowed employees who wished to continue working at their workstations as before by automatically synchronizing their documents between Google Drive and their computers. In less than 3 months, the changes were fully implemented within the company. By gradually discovering the tools and using them daily in their work, the employees were able to efficiently adapt to the new way of working.

2) Establishment of the Gmail messaging system and shared agendas
Having met their pressing needs by setting up Google Drive, Maître Carré was then able to extend its use to other solutions presented by the Google Apps for Work suite. As Google Drive is part of this complete set of applications, they were able to take advantage of all of its functionalities without having to make any additional investments. The existing messaging system was replaced by Gmail and paired with their address book. The shared agendas were also integrated into their work organization.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 03

3) Appropriation of the new tools to encourage collaboration and simplify work
Following the integration of Gmail messaging and shared agendas, the employees were able to discover the advantages of using the Google Apps for Work suite for collaborative documents. While using the apps was possible but not mandatory, the conversion of text documents and spreadsheets in the Google Docs format provided advantages in that they could begin work on a document simultaneously and manage revisions and comments more efficiently for each document. An adaptation period allowed them to measure its potential and open up new perspectives.

Lastly, the Maître Carré team was able to explore the many complementary applications in the Google Apps Marketplace, and to use Google Apps for Work functionalities as they saw fit. For example, the team was interested in using GQueues to better organize work and make project management easier. This extension perfectly met its needs and integrated well with Google Apps by synchronizing with Google Agendas.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 04

Fast results within the company

Based on their initial objectives, Maître Carré can now measure the efficiency of the solutions retained. Implementing Google Apps for Work provided quick and measurable improvements in the company’s operations and its employees’ work. This is clearly reflected in the following changes:

  • Substantial simplification of document management.
  • Gains in mobility and flexibility Documents are stored in the Cloud on Google Drive and are accessible from anywhere, at any time, and on any device. Employees can now work easier and more securely regardless of the context.
  • Centralized management facilitated by security and authorization rules. Large savings were made in regards to the time spent sharing documents internally between team members, as well as sharing externally with collaborators, contractual employees and customers. Now, no time is lost modifying the network connection settings, which are no longer required with these tools.
  • Making company management easier Project organization and supervision were significantly simplified. Efficiency and productivity also increased considerably.
  • Less time spent installing updates (software, security, etc.). Google solutions are constantly evolving, and completely benefit from the changes and improvements released online, without causing occasional interruptions due to Google’s activities or modifications made on their end.
  • Less money spent on IT equipment and maintenance, and no more problems related to local server management and backups.
  • Improved collaborative work with the Google Docs solutions, specifically in regards to spreadsheets (Google Sheets). Employees are able to collaborate directly on the same document regardless of their location or device, as each person can see what the other person is doing in real time and can interact directly.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 05

Solid foundations in the company’s image

Given the speed with which the selected interventions were implemented, the gains in productivity and the optimization of practices regarding work documents, this project proved to be an excellent return on investment for Maître Carré. Taking full advantage of the tools implemented, handling documents is now easier and more efficient for the company. Maître Carré also improved their mobility, eliminated the need for backups and local servers and simplified their project management. By choosing to deploy Google Apps for Work solutions for its company, Maître Carré took the liberty of applying one of the basic tenets of its IT strategy: “Quality is the key to success.”

Maitre Carre - Success Story 06

 “Simplifying access to data
and information is
a considerable advantage
for our company.

Hugo Girard Beauchamp, President at Maître Carré

SE | Cloud Experts

Maitre Carre - Success Story 01

Maître Carré

S’affranchit des serveurs locaux grâce aux solutions Cloud. S’affranchit des serveurs locaux grâce aux solutions Cloud.

Maître Carré conçoit et développe des immeubles contemporains et intelligents dans la grande région de Montréal (Canada).  Dernièrement, leur objectif était de ne plus avoir à gérer de serveur local pour leurs sauvegardes et de gagner en flexibilité pour faciliter le travail collaboratif entre employés, consultants et contractuels. Découvrez comment les solutions Google ont permis à Maître Carré de relever le défi tout en préservant la sécurité!


Maître Carré en bref

Depuis 2009, Maître Carré conçoit et développe des immeubles contemporains et intelligents dans la grande région de Montréal (Canada).  Plus que des habitations, l’entreprise offre de véritables lieux de vie urbains parfaitement intégrés à leur environnement et ont pour signature une architecture à la fois innovante et harmonieuse ainsi qu’un design créatif et juste.  Ses interventions se déclinent à travers les champs d’activités suivants : développement et construction d’immeubles résidentiels, commerciaux et de détail, développement de maisons de ville, recherche de sites, financement, consultation mise en marché/construction, acquisition d’immeubles.

Souhaitant contribuer positivement à la ville de Montréal, Maître Carré vise à soutenir l’économie locale, restaurer et mettre en valeur le patrimoine existant, célébrer les diverses formes d’art et de culture et favoriser les bonnes relations au sein des quartiers. De plus, les immeubles proposés par Maître Carré sont conçus pour minimiser leur impact environnemental tout au long de leur cycle de vie.

S’affranchir de la gestion des serveurs et sauvegardes locales tout en gagnant mobilité et flexibilité

Les défis

L’objectif de Maître Carré était de ne plus avoir de serveur à même ses locaux. Ceux-ci étaient positionnés dans une salle adjacente à ses bureaux et leur fiabilité diminuait d’année en année. Ils désiraient donc trouver un moyen à court terme de ne plus compter sur des sauvegardes réalisées sur un serveur local.  Dans le même ordre d’idées, ils souhaitaient que les solutions trouvées leur permettent de réduire le temps consacré par leurs employés à cette gestion des serveurs et des sauvegardes.

Aussi, il était impératif de bien considérer la réalité de travail de Maître Carré pour mieux appréhender le cahier des charges.  En effet, son équipe travaille d’une part avec une multitude de consultants et de contractuels.  Cela rendait le partage des fichiers délicat et la gestion de la sécurité parfois complexe.  Les solutions recherchées devaient répondre à ce besoin en simplifiant le fonctionnement.  D’autre part, ses employés sont souvent amenés à travailler de façon mobile sur tablette ou ordinateur portable, que ce soit en clientèle ou en télétravail à partir du domicile.  Les solutions recherchées devaient répondre à ces besoins de mobilité tout en préservant la sécurité et en simplifiant la gestion des différents documents de travail (notamment éviter de multiplier les copies).

 Google Drive : un choix de stockage Cloud performant retenu par Maître Carré

Les solutions

En considérant son contexte et l’ensemble des besoins identifiés, la recherche de solutions a rapidement permis d’identifier Google Drive comme étant un choix logique pour Maître Carré. En effet, cette solution répondait  parfaitement aux besoins de sauvegarde, de gestion et de partage des documents, de sécurité, de mobilité et de flexibilité d’utilisation.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 02

Afin de tirer entièrement profit des solutions Cloud qui s’offraient aux employés à travers les solutions Google, les actions ont été réparties en 3 phases.  La réalisation du déploiement de Google Drive s’est faite en premier lieu, permettant ensuite d’intégrer la messagerie Gmail, les agendas partagés, les outils de bureautique intégrés et les applications complémentaires.

1) Création du compte Google et migration des données sur Google Drive
Le paramétrage et la mise en place du compte Google for Work fut réalisé en moins d’une semaine, et les transferts initiaux de fichiers et documents se sont déroulés dans la foulée sans difficulté. Ensuite, afin de préserver une expérience de travail similaire, une version de “Drive for PC” a été paramétrée sur tous les postes requis. Ceci a permis aux employés qui le souhaitaient de continuer à travailler sur poste comme avant tout en synchronisant automatiquement leurs documents entre Google Drive et leurs ordinateurs. En moins de 3 mois, les changements furent pleinement intégrés au sein de l’entreprise. Tout en découvrant progressivement les outils et en s’y appuyant au quotidien dans leur travail, les employés ont pu s’adapter efficacement à ce nouveau fonctionnement.

2) Mise en place de la messagerie Gmail et des agendas partagés
Ayant répondu à ses besoins prioritaires par la mise en place de Google Drive, Maître Carré a ensuite pu étendre son utilisation aux autres solutions présentées par la suite d’applications Google Apps for Work. En effet, Google Drive s’insérant dans cette suite complète d’applications, ils ont pu bénéficier sans aucun investissement supplémentaire de tous ses avantages et fonctionnalités. Le système de messagerie existant a ainsi été remplacé par GMail, et jumelé à leur carnet d’adresses. Les agendas partagés ont été associés et intégrés à leur organisation de travail.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 03

3) Appropriation de l’ensemble des nouveaux outils pour valoriser la collaboration et faciliter le travail
Suite à l’intégration de la messagerie Gmail et des agendas partagés, les employés ont pu découvrir les avantages présentés par les documents collaboratifs de la suite Google Apps for Work. Quoique leur utilisation demeurait possible sans être forcés de procéder ainsi, la conversion des documents textes et des feuilles de calculs dans les formats “Google Docs” a permis d’aller plus loin en pouvant notamment commencer à travailler à plusieurs simultanément dans un document et en gérant plus efficacement les révisions et commentaires pour chaque document. Une période d’adaptation a permis d’en mesurer le potentiel et d’ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives.

Finalement, l’équipe de Maître Carré a pu explorer les très nombreuses applications complémentaires sur la “Google Apps Marketplace”, et étendre les fonctionnalités de la suite Google Apps for Work à leur guise. Entre autres, l’équipe a souhaité utiliser la solution “GQueues” pour mieux organiser son travail et faciliter la gestion de ses projets. Cette extension répondait parfaitement à ses souhaits et présentait une très bonne intégration aux Google Apps en offrant une synchronisation efficace avec les agendas Google.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 04

Des effets rapidement perceptibles au sein de l’entreprise

Les résultats

En se basant sur les objectifs de départ, Maître Carré peut aujourd’hui mesurer l’efficacité des solutions retenues. La mise en place des Google Apps for Work a permis des améliorations rapides et mesurable sur le fonctionnement général de l’entreprise et au niveau du travail de ses employés. Cela se reflète clairement à travers les changements suivants :

  • Une simplification considérable de la gestion des documents.
  • Un gain en mobilité et en flexibilité.  Les documents sont stockés sur le Cloud dans Google Drive  et sont accessibles partout, à n’importe quel moment, sur n’importe quel appareil.  Les employés peuvent désormais travailler simplement et en toute sécurité peu importe le contexte.
  • Une gestion centralisée et facilitée des règles de sécurité et d’autorisation.  Une économie franche est mesurée au niveau du temps consacré au partage des documents à l’interne entre les membres de l’équipe tout comme à l’externe avec les collaborateurs, les employés contractuels et les clients. Désormais, aucune perte de temps n’est impliquée pour effectuer des paramétrages des autorisations de connexion au réseau (qui ne sont plus requises avec ces outils).
  • Une facilité au niveau de la gestion de l’entreprise.  L’organisation et le suivi de projets se sont notamment vu simplifiés de façon évidente.  L’efficacité et la productivité se sont aussi vu améliorées de façon significative.
  • Une réduction du temps d’interruption pour l’installation de mises à jour (logiciels, sécurité, etc).  Les solutions Google sont en effet en constante évolution, et tous peuvent pleinement profiter des changements et améliorations dès leur mise en ligne, sans gêne occasionnée dans leurs activités ni manipulation de leur part.
  • Une réduction des investissements en matériel et maintenance informatique, et une élimination des problèmes liés à la gestion des serveurs locaux et aux sauvegardes locales.
  • Une amélioration du travail collaboratif avec les solutions Google Docs, notamment au niveau des feuilles de calculs (Google Sheets).  Les employés peuvent collaborer en direct sur le même document peu importe leur emplacement et l’appareil utilisé, chacun pouvant voir ce que l’autre fait en temps réel et pouvant interagir directement.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 05

Des fondations solides, à l’image de l’entreprise

Face à la rapidité de mise en oeuvre des solutions choisies, le gain en productivité et l’optimisation des pratiques au niveau de la gestion des documents de travail, ce projet présente pour Maître Carré un excellent retour sur investissement. Tirant pleinement profit des outils mis en place, l’entreprise bénéficie désormais d’une manipulation plus simple et plus efficace des documents, a gagné en mobilité, s’est affranchie des besoins liés aux sauvegardes et serveurs locaux et a simplifié sa gestion de projets. En choisissant de déployer les solutions Google Apps for Work pour son entreprise, Maître Carré s’est permis d’appliquer à sa stratégie informatique un de ses principes habituels : “la qualité, clé du succès”.

Maitre Carre - Success Story 06

 “Cette simplification
de l’accès aux données et aux informations
représente un avantage considérable
pour notre entreprise.”

Hugo Girard Beauchamp, Président chez Maître Carré

SE | Cloud Experts